• 87
  • 184
  • 174
  • 182

A Word From the President

Dear SAADASSJC member or supporter,

« Hiné ma tov ou ma naïm, shevet akhim gam yahad. »

On November 23rd, 2014, we celebrated the 20th anniversary of our founding.

20 years already! When the South Shore Jewish Community was created, its founders, headed by Walter Lee, endeavoured to establish an organization which would gather us together so that we could celebrate our Jewishness, notwithstanding our language, origins, or personal definitions of our Jewishness.

This inclusive vision brought together Anglophones and Francophones, Sephardim and Ashkenazim, adepts of traditional or conservative interpretations of our faith, Jews by birth, and those in mixed marriages. The obstacles were countless: geographic dispersion, management of language and diversity, etc. Yet against all odds, we have succeeded, and for all of us, this is a matter of great pride.

Several presidents have led our organization: Walter Lee, June Laliberté, Mark Covet, Beryl Tovim and Laurence Herscu. They were all inspired by the ideals which gave birth to our Community and I make every effort to honour them by following in their footsteps.

Since our inception, we have organized around twenty events per year, some of a religious nature, such as Passover, Rosh Hashana, and Yom Kippur; others more festive, like Purim and Yom Haatsmaout, or they may be educational and informative, like bagel breakfasts and Hebrew classes. I am very grateful to the small pool of volunteers who make all that possible through considerable effort.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, I thank you for your support and participation. You are our raison-d’être.

Hon. Jacques Saada
President

• 87
  • 184
  • 174
  • 182

Un mot du président

Cher membre ou sympathisant de la CJRS, Shalom,

« Hiné ma tov ou ma naïm, chevet akhim gam yahad. »

Le 23 novembre dernier, nous avons célébré notre 20e anniversaire.

Vingt ans déjà. À la création de la Communauté juive de la Rive-Sud, ses fondateurs, Walter Lee en tête, voulaient établir une organisation qui permettrait à notre communauté de se retrouver pour vivre ensemble notre judaïté, peu importe notre langue, nos origines et nos définitions personnelles de cette judaïté.

Cette vision inclusive a permis de rassembler anglophones et francophones, sépharades et ashkénazes, traditionalistes et religieux, familles juives ou issues de mariages mixtes. Et malgré tous les obstacles (étalement régional, gestion de la diversité, etc.), ensemble, nous réussissons et cela constitue pour nous tous un sujet de grande fierté.

Plusieurs présidents se sont succédé à la tête de notre organisation : Walter Lee, June Laliberté, Mark Covet, Beryl Tovim et Laurence Herscu. Ils ont tous tenu le fort, inspirés par les idéaux fondateurs de notre regroupement. Je m’efforce de suivre leurs traces en leur rendant hommage.

Au cours des années, nous organisons annuellement près d’une vingtaine d’activités, certaines à vocation religieuse (Pessah, Rosh Hashana ou Yom Kippour), d’autres plus festives (Pourim, Yom Haatsmaout, etc.), d’autres encore à vocation plus informative ou éducative (conférences, cours d’hébreu, etc.). Et tout cela est mis sur pied par un petit groupe de bénévoles auxquels j’exprime une gratitude chaleureuse.

Au nom du conseil d’administration, je vous remercie de votre appui et de votre participation. Vous êtes notre raison-d’être.

Hon. Jacques Saada
Président